menu Home
Club musicElectronic music feed

Premiere: Eilien ‘SMS’

wptangerine | May 1, 2021

Helsinki artist Eilien will release their new album, ‘Digital Lovers’, via Prague label Genot Centre in May. 

Made mostly using SuperCollider, a text-based audio coding platform, Eilien has built an emotionally-charged album that fuses synthetic sound design with organic recordings and altered vocals. “The thematic sphere floats between digital and organic,” they say. “Synthetic walls of sound are mirrored with the meditations of the ‘natural’ world, in the shape of field recordings, acoustic instruments and my voice. Love is searching [for] its place in this spectre of digital and organic reality: excitement of future love, grief over fading love, love’s force for creation, and transformative power of love.”

The result is a 10-track trip through glowing ambience, mesmerising dream pop, musique concrète and deconstructed trance. Below, you can hear the album’s most euphoric cut, ‘SMS’, which appears toward the finish in a flurry of dizzying synths that bring to mind the beatless dancefloor dreamstate of Barker’s ‘Debiasing’ and ‘Utility’. 

‘SMS’ is accompanied by some strobing, hypnotic visuals too, directed by Joonas Vohlakari and starring Eilien. Check it out below. 

‘Digital Lovers’ will be released on 9th May. You can pre-order it here

Helsinki’s Eilien debuts on Genot Centre with an album of “self-coded synthetic sounds and timeless pop-music”. Check out the dizzying synths of ‘SMS’, and its accompanying visuals, now 

Navigation Section: 
Section Priority: 
Priority 1
Broadcast Date: 
Friday, April 30, 2021 – 13:45
Hero Content: 
Social Media Image: 
Lead Media: 
gen045_portrait_Ellen Virman_horizontal2 copy.jpg
gen045_portrait_Ellen Virman_horizontal2 copy.jpg

Written by wptangerine

  • cover play_circle_filled

    01. Horizon
    Eko Zu & Ahee (feat. Lei)

  • cover play_circle_filled

    01. Lost
    Black Ambrose

  • cover play_circle_filled

    02. Prefekt
    Kenny Bass, R. Galvanize

  • cover play_circle_filled

    03. Dreams
    Primal Beat, Grover Crime

  • cover play_circle_filled

    04. Disclosure
    Kenny Bass, Paul Richards

  • cover play_circle_filled

    05. Arensky

  • cover play_circle_filled

    PDCST 08 – mp3
    Kenny Bass

play_arrow skip_previous skip_next volume_down